Board of Directors

Australian-American Fulbright Board Members 2016

The Australian-American Fulbright Commission is governed by a Board of Directors appointed annually by the Minister of Education and Training under the delegated authority of the Australian Prime Minister, and five Americans, appointed by the U.S. Ambassador to Australia. The Prime Minister and the Ambassador serve as joint Honorary Co-Chairs of the Commission, while the Board of Directors elects a Chairperson each year from its members.

Honorary Co-Chairs

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP
Prime Minister of Australia

Mr James Carouso
ChargĂ© d’affaires, U.S. Embassy Canberra

Board of Directors

Mr Peter de Cure (Chair)
Chairman, Campion Education (Aust.) Pty Ltd;
Chairman, Gifford Hill Pty Ltd;
Non-Executive Director, Variety the Children’s Charity SA Inc.

Ms Bettina Malone (Treasurer)
Counsellor for Public Affairs,
U.S. Embassy, Canberra

Professor Barney Glover
Vice-Chancellor and President, Western Sydney University;
Chairman, Universities Australia

Ms Laura Anderson
Chairman, SVI Global
Chairman, OneGlobalVenture Pty Ltd

Mr Greg Wilcock
Assistant Secretary, United States Branch
Australian Government, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Dr Varuni Kulasekera
Consultant Scientist

Mr Larry Lopez
Chairman OzAPP Awards Advisory Committee;
Partner, Australian Venture Consultants

Ms Frankie Reed
Consul General, U.S. Consulate, Melbourne

Mr Christian Bennett
Vice President of Government Affairs and Policy, General Electric